Return to Headlines

CPSD Teacher Named to Top 12

Conway Public Schools' District Teacher of the Year Susan Henderson has been named a Regional Finalist for the Arkansas State Teacher of the Year.
The Arkansas Department of Education announced the 12 teachers named Regional Finalists today.
The regional finalists will be recognized and the four state semi-finalists will be announced at an event July 31 at the Governor’s Mansion. (The event will adhere to social distancing and virus prevention guidelines and directives.)
“I want to congratulate the regional finalists for their outstanding work and dedication to their students, schools, and communities,” Arkansas Department of Education Secretary Johnny Key said. “While one of them will become the next Arkansas Teacher of the Year, all of them have exhibited determination, commitment, and a passion for education and are deserving of this honor."
Henderson, a library/media specialist at Ellen Smith Elementary School, was named CPSD Teacher of the Year last May. 
In a district first due to COVID-19, Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry surprised her at her home along with her Principal Holly King and Assistant Principal, Catricia Carter.
Susan Henderson will begin her second year of teaching in the Conway School District in August. 
The four state semi-finalists named on July 31 will be selected from the 12 regional finalists. One of the four state semi-finalists will be named the 2021 Arkansas Teacher of the Year.
The Arkansas Teacher of the Year program is part of the National Teacher of the Year program, which recognizes teachers for their teaching and leadership skills.
The 2021 Arkansas Teacher of the Year, who will be announced this fall, will apply to become the 2021 National Teacher of the Year.