Return to Headlines

2023 National Merit Semifinalists

Five Conway High School students are among the more than 16,000 semifinalists named National Merit Semifinalists today in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.


Conway High School’s 2023 National Merit Semifinalists are Ella Boudrie, Bryan (Lily) Crockett, Hugh Hill, Antonio (Tony) Jimenez, and Emily (Caroline) Schluterman.


“We are extremely proud of these five students and their accomplishment of becoming National Merit Semifinalists,” says Principal Buck Bing.

“These students exhibit all the qualities that make an exceptional Conway High School student. They pursue extracurriculars with the same excellence and diligence as they seek academic knowledge in the classroom. I speak for all of their teachers, past and present, when I congratulate them on this well-deserved honor.” 

These five students now move on to the next phase of the National Merit competition, where they have the opportunity to compete for National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million dollars. 


The semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to go on to become a finalist.  95 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, with half of the finalists winning a merit scholarship and the title of “Merit Scholar.”

Conway Schools Superintendent Jeff Collum commends these seniors for this tremendous honor.

“These five young people have already achieved so much and it is only the beginning of their senior year of high school,“ Collum says. “We are so proud of them and look forward to seeing the next steps in their journey.”


The students qualified for this distinction by taking the Preliminary SAT /National Merit Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and scoring in the top one percent of the nation.  The number of semi-finalists in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.