Return to Headlines

CHS Teacher Named Finalist for Computer Science Educator of the Year

Conway High School's Kimberly Raup is a finalist for Arkansas' Computer Science Educator of the Year Award.
Raup, who teaches AP Computer Science at CHS, is one of five finalists named this week by the Arkansas Department of Education. 
"I'm so honored to be recognized with this amazing group and all of the Computer Science teachers around our state," Raup said. "Anthony Owen, with Governor Hutchinson's leadership, has done an amazing job bringing awareness to the need for Computer Science and encouraging teachers to excel in this area. I'm so proud of our state and our students for rising to the challenge."
Joining Raup as 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year Finalists are:
  • Carl Frank - Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
  • Ashley Kincannon – Lake Hamilton Junior High School (Lake Hamilton School District)
  • Stacy Reynolds – McGehee High School (McGehee School District)
  • Lauren Taylor - Dardanelle High School (Dardanelle School District)
“This year’s applications were some of the most competitive ADE has seen in the three years of this award,” said Anthony Owen, the state director of Computer Science Education. "Unfortunately, our team could only select five, and we selected the educators who best demonstrated both a long-term and ongoing commitment to, passion for, and impact on computer science education in Arkansas and the nation. These educators have earned and deserve this recognition."
Raup is quick to point out that her students have earned numerous honors as well.
This year, Conway students earned $4,800 for making a 3, 4 or 5 on the AP Computer Science A Exam, qualified to attend the Governor’s All-State Coding Competition, won 3rd place in the ASMSA High School Hack competition, 1st and 3rd place in the Congressional App Challenge, and continue to compete in the VEX Robotics tournaments.
"Our students have never had this many opportunities to showcase their knowledge and skills and I’m so proud to be their teacher and coach," she said. 
Each Computer Science Educator of the Year Finalist will receive a $2,500 award from the ADE Office of Computer Science.
A panel of representatives from the ADE Computer Science Unit, the 2020 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year, external industry leaders, and other education experts will review the finalists’ applications and select the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year based on a rubric scoring system.
The winner, who will be announced at a later date, will receive an additional $12,500 award.